Unseen in Bangkok
The Four-Portico Prang with Depictions of "Three Kingdoms" Epic
Formerly abandoned, Somdet Chao Phraya Borom Maha Phichaiyat (That Bunnag) had this temple renovated in 1841 to present to Rama III as a royal monastery. The king renamed it Wat Phra Yatikaram after the noble. Rama IV later renamed it Wat Phichayayatikaram. It is in the royally preferred Sino-Thai architectural style.
The most distinctive feature of this temple is the 3 prangs built on one base. The biggest one in the middle is flanked with two smaller identical ones. Unlike most prangs with a single eastern portico, these three prangs have 4 porticoes.
Another interesting artifact at this temple is the stone carving of the Chinese classic, Three kingdoms epic (Sam Kok), around the foot of the congregation hall. It was imported from China. No Na Paknam, a renowned its artistic magnificence as " the best carving with notable composition and second to none, one of the best Chinese artifacts."
Home l Tour Inside Bangkok l Tour Outside Bangkok l 50 Intersting Destinations In Bangkok l Unseen In Bangkok